Delicious Sauteed Onions For Dessert

Okay I think I can post this from my phone. Here goes.

My wife turned a pretty little 30 years old on Wednesday. To celebrate this momentous occasion like the classless, tasteless rednecks we are, we went to one of our favorite restaurants: Chili’s.  I love a good fajita! (Since I am a comedic genius, I pronounce them “fuh-jye-tahs” to the loving and appreciative eyerolling of my wife, because the joke never gets old, you see.)

Dmitry is usually good at restaurants. He’s impatient as any 3 yo but sits still pretty well owing to his strange tolerance and comfort in being strapped in.

This time was different, however. Since the start of the meal he was pretty upset and loud. He even made the nice family next to us quietly move a few tables away. His frustrated howls were inconsolable! He only took a few bites of the starchy food he normally enjoys like pizza crust and fries. Finally dessert arrived, a delicious ice cream cookie skillet thing. He would have none of it (though the boys saved room!)

Only as I was boxing up my fajita leftovers did we divine the source of his despair. He leaned as far as he could, stretched his little pincers out and snatched up a grilled onion. He gobbled it down and flapped patiently, waiting for more. Poor kid had been smelling the ultimate in deliciousness (to him) for the entire meal and was understandably frustrated not to be able to ask for them… but he immediately signed “please” over and over once he had that first taste!

Mommy fed him grilled onions all the way home until he fell sleep.

Guess what he had the next day for lunch? I’ll give you a hint: it wasn’t chocolate chip cookies, which he apparently hates. Only buttery carmelized onions will do.

3 thoughts on “Delicious Sauteed Onions For Dessert

  1. mewhoami says:

    Happy Birthday to your wife! Also, that is hilarious. I’ve heard of onions making people cry, but never in that sense before.

  2. Genevieve says:

    I just had to giggle when I read this, as well as that empathetic feeling I get when I read something that I can honestly say “Been there, done that” EXCEPT with the grilled onions.

Leave a Reply

